Calcutta International School MUN and Debate Club



Plan of Action of the Fifth board (2019-20)

President: Yash Vardhan Pansari - yashvp2003@gmail.com

Vice President: Aryan Singhania - aryansinghania1511@gmail.com

[Teacher in Charge: Susmita Mukherjee - mukherjee.susmita@calcuttais.edu.in]

[Got a logo designed with the help of CISMUN'19 design team during this term]

IntraMUN'2020:

- Multiple orientation sessions for the junior batches
- 2 enriching committees that served as an introduction to MUN for many
- Introduction to virtual MUNs and taught specifics of how MUNs will function virtually to prepare students for the time to come

Regular club meetings:

- Timely meetings of the board with the members of the club
- Discussions to help juniors out with upcoming conferences
- Small simulations in break time

Training sessions for the middle school:

- Exciting introduction to Model UN
- Teaching the importance of MUNs to college apps
- Teaching basic procedure and tips and tricks
- Interactive question and answer sessions
- Excellent exposure to young children to ensure and maintain CIS's eminence at MUNs
- 2 interactive orientations with 100 participants and received about 90 applications for Middle section IntraMUN

Social Media Presence

- Instagram account (@munclubcis), email (<u>munclubcis@gmail.com</u>) made for the first time Presence established and about 150 followers reached over just 6 posts
- 9 more scheduled posts to be posted by the end of the term of the board

CISMUN'20:

- Future dates and format to be decided due to pandemic
- Committees, Secretariat and core committee decided

 invites, EB, and all details had been decided and finalised for physical MUN planned for 1st week of July 2020 and can be carried forward to a potential online CISMUN

Delegations sent to MUN's all over the city, with participation all over the country:

- Multiple best delegation awards at the most prestigious conferences in Kolkata
- Executive Board positions secured at top international conferences by Harvard, Oxford and the Ivy League
- High ranking awards won by juniors
- Best delegate at every committee we attended at MUN Alfrink in the Netherlands, all secured by juniors
- Detailed accomplishments listed in annex 1

Alfrink Secretariat collaborative simulation:

 During the Alfrink exchange program, a simulation was held with the Secretary General and Deputy of MUN'20 were participating as delegates along with members of MUN Club - chaired by the MUN Club board

Selection of new board and investiture:

- CV submissions were taken from the top 5 members from the batch of 2022 and 3 names were shortlisted for the next (6th) board of the club
- In the presence of Mrs Sushmita Mukherjee, interviews were held with all 3 to decide board positions
- The decided board (with consensus among the existing board and Mrs S Mukherjee):
 - Co-Presidents: Vansh Khanna (AS), Krishna Mishra (IB-1)
 - Vice President: Suryaansh Basumallik (AS)
- Investiture to be held as part of Middle Section IntraMUN and the term of the 5th board thus ends on 9th August 2020, passing on to the decided 6th board.

Annex 1: Accomplishments of the club

Chairman and Director of the Calcutta MUN Society- Yash and Aryan (respectively)

International:

Oxford MUN Singapore'19 - Anjali, Yash went as Assistant Directors

Harvard MUN India 19 - Aryan went as **Assistant Director**

Harvard MUN China'19 - Anjali went as **Assistant Director**

Ivy League MUN Conference India 19 - Anjali went as **Assistant Director**; Aryan, Yash as delegates and **won awards**

Harvard MUN India'20 - Aryan went as **Assistant Director**

MUNAlfrink'19 - Vansh (**Best Delegate**), Suryaansh(**Best Delegate**), Sanjay (**Best Delegate**), Veda (**Best Delegate**), Ashna (**Best Delegate**) - **CIS Best Delegation**

OHMUN'20 - Suryaansh Basumallik (**Best Delegate**), Yash Vardhan Pansari (**Best Delegate**), Aryan Singhania (**Best Delegate**) - **CIS Best Delegation**

Interschool

SyndicateMUN'20 - Krishna Mishra (**Best Delegate**), Prakhar Drolia, Shria Gupta, Nandagopa Narasimhan, Samridh Poddar, Prithviraj Jhunjhunwala, Ranjan Kothari, Viraj Sonthalia, Shubhraneil Ganguly (**Special Mention**) (**Yash, Aryan, Anjali, Suryaansh were Chairpersons**)

THSMUN'20 - Viraj Sonthalia, Nandagopa Narasimhan, Jahnavi Garg, Prithviraj Jhunjhunwala, Shubhraneil Ganguly, Prakhar Drolia (**Best Delegate**), Samridh Poddar, Sia Agarwal, Shovit Bhattacharya, Veda Jain (**Special Mention**), Hrik Mukherjee, Krishna Mishra (**Outstanding Delegate**), Suryaansh Basumallik (**Best Delegate**), Harsh Kumbhat (**Special Mention**) - **CIS Best Delegation**

LSAMUN'19 - Jahnavi Garg, Aryan Singhania (**Best Delegate**), Harsh Kumbhat (**Special Mention**), Veda Jain, Shubhraneil Ganguly, Suryaansh Basumallik (**Special Mention**), Vansh Khanna (**Best Delegate**), Prithviraj Jhunjunwala, Shovit Bhattacharya (**Special Mention**), Nandagopa Narasimhan, Anjali Surana (**Outstanding Delegate**), Ranjan Kothari, Yash Vardhan Pansari (**Best Delegate**), Krishna Mishra (**Best Delegate**), Shreya, Ayanika Bhattacharjee - **CIS Best Delegation**

SSMUN'19 - Krishna Mishra (**Special Mention**), Suryaansh Basumallik (**Outstanding Delegate**), Vansh Khanna (**Best Delegate**), Ashna Chamaria (**Outstation Delegate**), Jahnavi Garg, Prithviraj Jhunjhunwala, Shovit Bhattacharya, Shubhraneil Ganguly, Veda Jain, Yash Vardhan Pansari (**Best Delegate**)

LMCMUN'19 - Suryaansh Basumallik , Vansh Khanna (**Special Mention**), Ashna Chamaria, Krishna Mishra, Prithviraj Jhunjhunwala, Shubhraneil Ganguly, Veda Jain (**Special Mention**)

JacoMUN'19 - Krishna Mishra *(**Special Mention**)*, Suryaansh Basumallik, Vansh Khanna *(**Outstanding Delegate**)*, Veda Jain, Ashna Chamaria, Yash Vardhan Pansari *(**Outstanding Delegate**)*

THSMUN'19 - Nandagopa Narasimhan *(Special Mention)*, Aneesh Bhattacharjee, Anjali Surana *(Outstanding Delegate)*, Ashna Chamaria *(Special Mention)*, Daksh Manpuria, Krishna Mishra, Suryaansh Basumallik, Shubhraneil Ganguly - *CIS Outstanding Delegation*

ONLINE INTRAMUN'20 - Viraj Sonthalia, Veda Jain *(Special Mention)*, Vansh Khanna (Guest delegate), Teesta, Suryaansh Basumallik *(Outstanding Delegate)*, Sia Agarwal, Shubhraneil *(Special Mention)*, Shovit *(Special Mention)*, Maya Ford *(Special Mention)*, Prakhar Drolia *(Special Mention)*, Aryan Agarwalla, Ashna, Jahnavi Garg, Krishna Mishra *(Best Delegate)*, Sanjay

CISMUN'19 EB - Yash Vardhan Pansari *(Dep. Secretary General, Chair)*, Shreshth Sarda *(Secretary General, Chair)*, Rithvik Chatterjee *(Secretary General, Chair)*, (VC) Harsh Kumbhat, (Director) Veda Jain, (VC) Sara Muthedath, (Director) Aneesh Bhattacharjee, (Rapporteur) Krishna Mishra, (VC) Vansh Khanna, (Director) Daksh Manpuria, (Rapporteur) Ashna Chamaria, (Chair) Aryan Singhania, (Chair) Anjali Surana, (VC) Kushagra Poddar, (Rapporteur) Suryaansh Basumallik