A Level

The General Certificate of Education Advanced Level, or A Level, is the ‘gold standard’ of Cambridge qualifications. It is accepted as an entry qualification by universities worldwide. A Level examinations are usually based on approximately 360 hours of guided learning per subject, normally over a two year period.

Cambridge International AS & A Level develops learners’ knowledge, understanding and skills along with independent thinking and applying knowledge. The curriculum also encourages logical thinking and coherent presentation of arguments.

Recognition in India:

The school-leaving A Level qualifications are widely accepted in India for the purpose of admission to Indian colleges and universities, as well as meeting eligibility criteria for competitive exams.

A full list of Indian institutes that accept Cambridge qualifications can be downloaded from

Band 1 English Language 9093
Band 2 Art and Design 9704
English Literature 9695
Mathematics 9709
Band 3 Physics 9702
Psychology 9698
Information Technology 9626
Band 4 Geography 9696
Business 9609
Chemistry 9701
Sociology 9699
Band 5 Biology 9700
History 9389
Computer Science 9608
Accounting 9706
Band 6 Economics 9708
Travel and Tourism 9396
Art & Design 9704
Further Mathematics 9231

Please note :
  • Minimum number of subjects to be chosen are 5
  • Maximum number of subjects to be chosen are 6
  • Student can choose only one subject from each band